Monday, April 21, 2014

Philip K. Dick Award


Norwescon has had the honor of hosting the Philip K. Dick Awards since 1984. The Philip K. Dick Award and Special Citation is presented annually for distinguished science fiction books published for the first time in the United States as a paperback original. The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society, and the ceremony is sponsored by the Northwest Science Fiction Society and held annually at Norwescon. Special guests attending the ceremony often include the nominated authors and publishers, as well as an administrator of the award. There is no charge to Norwescon members to attend the ceremony. We hope to see you there!

This Year’s Nominees

As announced on January 10, 2014, the nominees for the 2013 Philip K. Dick Award are:

A CALCULATED LIFE by Anne Charnock (47North)
THE MAD SCIENTIST’S DAUGHTER by Cassandra Rose Clarke (Angry Robot)
SELF-REFERENCE ENGINE by Toh EnJoe, trans. Terry Gallagher (Haikasoru)
ANCILLARY JUSTICE by Ann Leckie (Orbit)
LIFE ON THE PRESERVATION by Jack Skillingstead (Solaris)
Ian Whates (Solaris)
COUNTDOWN CITY by Ben H. Winters (Quirk Books)

I could not get the webpages of the winner, Ben H. Winters, to come up so here are two messages from his Facebook page:

"I won the Philip K. Dick Award. So happy. So surprised. So proud."

"Shirtless in Seattle | Ben H. Winters
Big joy for me in Seattle on Friday night, where I had the great honor of winning the Philip K. Dick Award for science fiction for 2013, for my novel Countdown City."

I am going to do a little more digging. This award, like many, I have not heard of. But we have a winner!

No comments:

Post a Comment